E11 Certification

Companies in the EU that supply radio remote controls to the automotive industry are obliged to have them approved by means of an E11 certification. The E11 EMC standardisation (specific to Great Britain) prescribes how these requirements of radio remote systems in automation must be complied with.

When it comes to vehicles the correct, uninterrupted functionality of electronics is of vital importance. For the driver as well as the manufacturer it is most important that devices do not disrupt each other as well as being immune to external interference. The correct working order of components is certified if these have the distinctive E11 mark.

Necessary for everyone

An E11 certificate is absolutely necessary for everyone in the automotive industry (salvage companies, trailer builders etc). No one can afford to have processes of the remote control or receiver disrupted as this can result in serious accidents. A uniform regulation is important, yet unfortunately not all radio remote controls are in compliance with the EMC directives that are prescribed by the European Union.

Fortunately people are becoming increasingly more aware that this certificate is essential because of an unacceptably high business risk when used on public roads. When radio remote controls or receivers do not meet the E certification the owner of the vehicle is can be held fully liable for damages suffered. The owner of the vehicle is held responsible for the accumulated applications of the vehicle.

Stricter legislation

Since October 2002 the regulations for electrical and electronic components in or on the vehicles have become considerably stricter. EMC tests for vital car parts (airbags, ABS) have become a standard within the EU. However other electronics (decorative lighting, in-car entertainment) must also be in compliance with the EMC requirements of the automotive directive.

The 2004/104 / EC (E11) was withdrawn on the basis of Regulation 661/2009 on November 1, 2014. This resulted, that as of November 1, 2014 only Regulation 10 would be applicable. Retrofit equipment (aftermarket) with a non-immunity related function must be tested in accordance with EN 50498 (2010).

The E-certificate differs in name per country where the inspection is done, however it is valid in all the below mentioned countries:

E1 Germany
E2 France
E3 Italy
E4 Netherlands
E5 Sweden
E6 Belgium
E7 Hungary
E8 Czech Republic
E9 Spain
E10 Yugoslavia
E11 Great Britain
E12 Austria
E13 Luxembourg
E14 Switzerland
E16 Norway
E17 Finland
E18 Denmark
E19 Romania
E20 Poland
E21 Portugal
E22 Russia
E23 Greece
E25 Croatia
E26 Slovenia
E27 Slovakia
E28 Belarus
E29 Estonia
E31 Bosnia-Herzegovina
E37 Turkey

This post is also available in: German French Dutch

Leave a Reply